Home

Incredible Voice – Out Of This World: Ofra Haza.

February 10, 2015

Everytime I want to cleanse my mind from the filth of this world I listen to this song.
My favourite song from my favourite singer. Beautiful is the only fitting attribute and yet it doesn’t remotely justice.

3 Responses to “Incredible Voice – Out Of This World: Ofra Haza.”

  1. xPraetorius Says:

    It’s just beautiful, and she sings it beautifully! I’ll listen to this a lot.

    Best,

    — x

  2. xPraetorius Says:

    Just gorgeous. Can you please tell me the lyrics?

    Best,

    — x

    • artaxes Says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as I do.
      If you are familiar with music from the Balkans, especially the former Yugoslavia, you might have noticed elements of that music.
      That’s because the composer of this wonderful song, Goran Bregović, is from Bosnia.
      Here are the lyrics.

      Kol Haneshama (the whole soul)

      my god, the whole soul that you have given me
      … my god

      yes, there is so many things that are concealed\hidden from us
      and there are loves, that are unfulfilled
      like when are born, into this life
      what is left?

      yes, for all the many many days,
      for, the pain that never stops,
      like when we are born
      and we are asking for mercies
      my god…

      my god, the whole soul that you have given me
      my god, what it is, this whole soul?
      my god, just give power\strength to all of us
      my god, just give power\trength to the whole world

      Taken from http://lyricstranslate.com/de/Kol-Hneshama-whole-soul.html#ixzz3RT6IBnIx

      Hebrew

      Kol Haneshama

      אלוהי כל הנשמה
      שנתת בי… אלוהי…
      ELOHI, KOL HANESHAMA
      SHNA-TA-TA BE… ELOHI

      כן, יש הרבה הסתר פנים
      ואהבות שאי אפשר
      כמו שאנו נולדים
      אל תוך החיים
      מה נשאר?
      KAN, YESH HAR-BA’ HESTER PANIM
      V-AHA-VOT SH’-E’-AFSHAR
      KMO SH’-ANO NOLADIM
      EL TOCH HA-HA-IM
      MA NISHAR?

      כן, על ימים רבים רבים
      על הכאב שלא חדל
      כמו שאנו נולדים
      ומבקשים קצת רחמים
      אלוהיי…
      KAN, AL YAMIM RABIM RABIM
      AL HA-KA’-EV SH’ELO HADEL
      KMO SH’ANU NOLADIM
      U-MAVAKSHIM KTZAT RAHAMIM
      ELOHI…

      אלוהי, כל הנשמה שנתת בי
      אלוהי, כל הנשמה מה מהי?!…
      אלוהי, תן רק כוח לכולם
      אלוהי, תן רק כוח לעולם.
      ELOHI, KOL HANESHAMA SHA’NA-TA-TA BE
      ELOHI, KOL HANESHAMA, MA HE?
      ELOHI, TEN LEE RAK KOACH LAKULAM
      ELOHI, TEN RAK KOACH LA’OLAM


Leave a Reply

